Information about Orissa

Area : 1,55,707 sq. km
Population : 36,804,660
Capital : Bhubaneshwar
Principal Languages : Oriya

Orissa: At a Glance

The name Orissa is derived from Sanskrit word “Odra Vishaya” or “Odra Desa”. The ancient province of “Odra desa” or “Or-desa” was limited to the valley of the Mahanadi and to the lower course of the Subarnarekha River. Continue reading